User policy settings
  • 21 Jun 2022
  • 3 minutes to read

User policy settings


User policy settings allow you to determine which default roles are assigned to various users, as well as aspects of how their information is displayed on the site to various people. 

The following settings are available when you set user policies

Setting
Description
Notes

Role for visitor

This is the role that will be given to anyone accessing your site who is not logged in. By default this is the Guest role, but you may wish to create your own roles as well. 

-

Role for guest

This is the role that will be given to anyone accessing your site who logs in as a guest. By default this is the Guest role, but you may wish to create your own roles as well. 

-

Role for learner

This is the role used for learners on the site. By default this is the Learner role, but you may wish to select or create another role. 

-

Role for manager

This is the role used for managers on the site. By default this is the Staff Manager role, but you may wish to select or create another role. 

-

Role for assessor

This is the role used for trainers on the site. By default this is the Editing Trainer role but you may wish to select or create another role. 

-

Default role for all users

This is the default role used for all users on the site, along with any other roles they might have. It ensures that the permissions assigned to this role apply to all logged-in users at the site level. By default this is the Authenticated user role, but you may wish to select or create another role. 

-

Creators' role in new course

When a user creates a new course, this is the default role they will be automatically assigned to. 

-

Restorers' role in new course

When a user restores a new course this is the default role they will be automatically assigned to. 

-

Auto-login guests

If enabled, anyone accessing the site as a visitor (not logged in) will be automatically logged in as a guest, and therefore have any associated guest access or permissions. 

Users are not automatically logged in if they attempt to access administration pages.

Hide user fields

Select any profile fields you wish to hide from users who are not Site Administrators or Editing Trainers.

You can select multiple fields by holding the Ctrl key on your keyboard and then selecting the desired fields.

Show user identity

Decide which user fields you want to display with the user full name in searches and lists of users. 

-

Full name format

Decide how you wish to display user names. By default this is set to language, which allows the language pack to decide, however you can change this using the following placeholders:

  • firstname
  • lastname
  • firstnamephonetic
  • lastnamephonetic
  • middlename
  • alternatename

You can use a combination of these, for example firstname lastname will display the first name before the last name e.g. Albert Einstein. Alternatively, lastname firstname will display the last name before the first name, e.g. Einstein Albert. 

-

Alternative full name format

Similar to the Full name format, but determining how names are displayed to users with the viewfullname capability, which includes Trainers, Editing Trainers, and Managers by default.

-

Maximum users per page

When a user selector is displayed (for example when adding members to a group or audience) this will determine the maximum number of users that can be displayed on one page. 

-

Enable Gravatar

If the user has not added a profile picture then the site will try to find one from Gravatar.

Gravatar is an online service in which users can associate an image with their email address for use across the internet. 

-

Gravatar default image URL

If Gravatar is unable to find an image for a user then it will display the image set here. This could be a URL for an image or a Gravatar default image using their image codes

-

Temporary manager settings

There is a separate section on the page that deals with settings for temporary managers.

Once you have configured these settings, remember to click Save changes

Setting
Description
Notes

Enable temporary managers

You will need to enable temporary managers to use them with job assignments

Disabling this will remove all temporary managers when cron next runs. 

Temporary manager selection

Decide who is eligible to be selected as a temporary manager from either All staff or Only staff managers

Changing this will affect existing temporary managers who do not have the appropriate role. 

Temporary manager expiry days

This is the default duration of a temporary manager's assignment in days. This can be changed when each temporary manager is assigned. 

-

© Copyright 2022 Totara Learning Solutions. All rights reserved. Some content originally obtained via GPLv3 license and continues to be available under GPLv3. All other content is the sole copyright of Totara Learning Solutions. 


Was this article helpful?

What's Next
Changing your password will log you out immediately. Use the new password to log back in.
First name must have atleast 2 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Last name must have atleast 1 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Enter a valid email
Enter a valid password
Your profile has been successfully updated.