Create a purge type
  • 06 Apr 2022
  • 1 minute to read

Create a purge type


Article summary

As part of user data management on your site, you can create purge types to control which data can be permanently deleted. Each purge type contains a customised list of data items to be removed when a user is suspended or deleted.

To create a new purge type, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Quick-access menu > Users > User data management > Purge type.
  2. Click Create purge type in the top-right corner of the screen. 
  3. Select the user status for which you want to apply the purge type. Choose from Deleted, Suspended, and Active
  4. Click Continue
  5. Configure the settings as required. 
  6. Click Add to complete the process. 

Occasionally new components may be added to the system (e.g. a new plugin is installed) which means there are potentially more items containing user data. These items will be ignored by existing purge types until a Site Administrator has edited the types affected (by choosing whether to select them or not for purge). Administrators will receive a notification that new items have been added. When editing an affected purge type, the individual items will be highlighted with a New label. Once the purge type is saved, the labels and warning will be removed.

Next steps

The Totara Academy has a whole course dedicated to Creating users in Totara. Here you can learn more on how to add users, manage their data, see best practice, and give it a go yourself.

© Copyright 2024 Totara Learning Solutions. All rights reserved.


Was this article helpful?

Changing your password will log you out immediately. Use the new password to log back in.
First name must have atleast 2 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Last name must have atleast 1 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Enter a valid email
Enter a valid password
Your profile has been successfully updated.