Seminar notification triggers

Prev Next

Notifications can be configured to be sent when the following events/triggers relating to seminars occur:

Notification trigger event

Description

Booking cancelled

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, or a third-party email recipient when a user's booking is cancelled, either by themselves, a Trainer, or a Site Administrator, but the event is still running.

Booking confirmed

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, or a third-party email recipient when the user's booking on an event is confirmed (e.g. by their manager).

Booking details changed

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, or a third-party email recipient when the booking details are amended.

Booking cancelled due to event being cancelled

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, or a third-party email recipient when an event is cancelled, causing the user's booking to be cancelled.

Booking end date

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, or third-party email recipients on the end date of the user's booking, or a number of days before or after the end date.

Booking start date

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, or third-party email recipients on the start date of the user's booking, or a number of days before or after the start date.

Booking request created

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, event approvers, or a third-party email recipient when the user's booking request is created.

Booking request declined

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, event approvers, or a third-party email recipient when the user's booking request is denied.

Booking request expired

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, or a third-party email recipient when the user's booking request expires without being approved.

Registration closed

Notifications can be triggered to send to a users or third-party email recipients when the registration window closes.

Event cancelled

Notifications can be triggered to send to users with event roles (roles can be selected in the global seminar settings) or third-party email recipients when a Trainer or Site Administrator cancels the seminar event. This notification is not sent to the booked users, who can receive the Booking cancelled due to event being cancelled notification instead.

Reservations cancelled

Notifications can be triggered to send to reservation managers (the users who have reserved seminar places) or third-party email recipients when their reservations are cancelled.

Reservations expired

Notifications can be triggered to send to reservation managers (the users who have reserved seminar places) or third-party email recipients when their reservations expire.

Event under minimum bookings

Notifications can be triggered to send to recipients when a seminar event has not reached the minimum required number of bookings, either on the day of the event or a number of days before the event.

Facilitator assigned

Notifications can be triggered to send to facilitators when they are assigned to a seminar event.

Facilitator event cancelled

Notifications can be triggered to send to facilitators or third-party email recipients when an event to which they are assigned is cancelled.

Facilitator sessions cancelled

Notifications can be triggered to send to facilitators or third-party email recipients when any sessions to which they are assigned are cancelled.

Facilitator sessions details changed

Notifications can be triggered to send to facilitators or third-party email recipients when the details of their seminar sessions are updated.

Facilitator unassigned

Notifications can be triggered to send to facilitators or third-party email recipients when the facilitator is unassigned from seminar events.

Waitlisted signup expired

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, or third-party email recipients when the user's position on the waitlist expires. This notification is only sent when the "Clear expired waitlists" setting is enabled — if disabled, waitlist positions do not formally expire (they remain open, allowing manual promotion), so this notification will not trigger.

Wait-list signup created

Notifications can be triggered to send to a user, their manager, or third-party email recipients when the waitlist is created for an event.

Trainer assigned

Notifications can be triggered to send to Trainers when they are assigned to a seminar event.

Trainer sessions details changed

Notifications can be triggered to send to Trainers or third-party email recipients when the details of their seminar sessions are updated.

Trainer unassigned

Notifications can be triggered to send to Trainers or third-party email recipients when they are unassigned from a seminar event.

Virtual meeting creation failed

Notifications can be triggered to send to virtual room creators or third-party email recipients when a virtual meeting room cannot be created for any reason.

Join the Totara Community for more resources to help you get the most out of Totara. 


© Copyright 2026 Totara Learning Solutions. All rights reserved.