View learning plans
  • 19 Oct 2022
  • 1 minute to read

View learning plans


Learning plans are viewable by the learner's manager(s), temporary manager(s) and Site Administrators.

Viewing learning plans as a manager/temporary manager

As a manager you are able to view the learning plans for all your direct reports. The permissions you have when viewing your team members' learning plans are defined in the learning plan template set by the Site Administrator.

View learning plans

  1. Select My Team on the navigation bar.
  2. Select Plans under each staff member to view all their learning plans. You are able to see all completed and active learning plans for each staff member.
  3. Select the name of the plan to view the details of the plan.

Approving a plan

As a manager, you are notified when a learner submits a plan for approval. When viewing a plan which requires approval, the approve and decline buttons appear on the learning plan overview page and in a box above the plan when viewing the plan details.

If your team member has multiple job assignments linked to different managers, approval requests and other learning plan notifications go to all of their managers. The first manager to act on any approval will be successful and other managers will see that approval has already occurred.

Note that whilst you will be able to see approval status changes completed by another manager, you will not be notified that it has been completed and approval tasks will remain on your dashboard until dismissed.

Learning plan comments

To add a comment on a team member's learning plan:

  1. Select My Team on the navigation bar.
  2. Select Plans under the staff member.
  3. Select the plan you want to comment on.
  4. Type in the comment.
  5. Select Save comment.
  6. A history of the saved comments will be kept on the learning plan.

Viewing learning plans as an administrator

As a Site Administrator you have the ability to view and edit all users' learning plans.

To view a user's learning plan:

  1. Select Users > Browse list of users from the quick-access menu.
  2. Search for the user you want.
  3. Select the name of the user to view their user profile.
  4. Select Learning Plans to view the users learning plans.

As a Site Administrator you have the ability to edit plans, delete plans, create a new plan, reactivate a completed plan, and approve plans.

C015 - Learning Plans(1)The Totara Academy has a whole course dedicated to using Learning plans in Totara Learn. Here you can learn more on how to use learning plans, see best practice, and give it a go yourself.

© Copyright 2022 Totara Learning Solutions. All rights reserved.


Was this article helpful?

Changing your password will log you out immediately. Use the new password to log back in.
First name must have atleast 2 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Last name must have atleast 1 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Enter a valid email
Enter a valid password
Your profile has been successfully updated.