Performance activity settings
  • 13 Apr 2022
  • 4 Minutes to read

Performance activity settings


General tab settings

The following settings are available under the general tab when creating a performance activity. 

SettingDescriptionNotes
Activity titleThe title of the performance activity should be brief but descriptive (and ideally unique to avoid confusion).Mandatory field.
DescriptionA short description of the performance activity. This can be helpful to allow others to understand the purpose of the activity.This is only visible to Site Administrators.
Activity type

Select the type of activity, choose from: 

  • Appraisal
  • Check-in
  • Feedback
-
Anonymise responsesIf enabled responses will be anonymised, meaning users will not be able to see who has responded as part of the activity.-
Visibility condition

This setting determines when users whose relationship allows them to view others' responses will have access to those responses. Responses are never visible to others before they've been submitted

Choose from the following options:

  • None (submitted responses immediately visible to viewers)
  • Response submission is closed for the participant who is viewing
  • Response submission is closed for all participants

Content tab settings

The following settings are available under the content tab when creating a performance activity. 

SettingDescriptionNotes
Automatic closureToggle these settings on to set triggers for automatically closing the performance activity sections and instances.
Closed sections can no longer be edited, and they are marked with a padlock icon. The options are:
  • On completion: Enable this setting to automatically close sections and instances once they have been submitted
  • On due date: Enable this setting to close all open instances of the activity of the set due date (this is the due date set on the Assignment tab)
If this setting is not enabled then each section will be marked as complete but will not be closed, meaning the participants can return and edit their answers at any point.

You may also want to see manually managing the availability of an activity for more information on manually opening or closing a performance activity.  

Multiple sections enabledEnable this setting to divide the activity into multiple sections. Each section is presented as a page with a unique URL. For each section, you need to add a name and the responding participants (you can also optionally add view-only participants). Then add content by clicking Edit content elements. This setting gives you the flexibility to have different participants complete each section.

You can add a section above or below existing sections, but note that you cannot change the order of sections.

If you have multiple sections set up and then disable this setting, all content will be merged into the first section. Additionally, any section-specific participant settings will be removed.

Each section must include at least one question.

Responding participants

Click the button to decide which participants will need to complete the activity. You can choose from:

Select all that apply, then click Done

At least one responding relationship must be added per section.

For each participant, you can remove the participant by clicking the cross icon (thin_cross). You can also allow users to view other participants' answers by ticking the Can view others' responses checkbox.

The subject needs to be selected here for the activity to appear on the user's Your activities page.


View-only participantsClick the button to decide which participants will only be able to view the activity. You can choose from:

 Select all that apply, then click Done

For each participant, you can remove the participant by clicking the cross icon ().  

Only relationships which have not been selected as Responding participants can be added as view-only. 


Assignment tab settings

This tab allows you to assign a performance activity to different users. See the following guides for more information:

You can also configure the following assignment settings:

SettingDescriptionNotes
Manage relationship participationIf you enable this setting then you can choose how to handle relationship changes:
  • Override global settings: The global participant settings are configured via Quick-access menu > Configure features > Perform settings. 
  • Auto-assign new participants to existing activities on role change: Regardless of the global settings, this will create a new participant instance for a user who enters a relationship in an active performance activity (e.g. a new direct report for a manager). This applies to the relationships of the following: manager, manager's manager, appraiser and direct report. 
  • Auto-close all participant instances for removed participants: Regardless of the global settings, this will close participant instances when a participant leaves the relationship (e.g. changes manager). 
See Configure features for more information. 
Selection of participantsDecide which participants will be able to manually choose the participants to fill certain relationships. This allows the relationships to be controlled by the desired user to best suit each case. For example, you might allow the Subject to select the participants for the Peer relationship. This would mean the subject of an appraisal can select which peers they wish to review them.Once activated it is not possible to change the users selected. Subject and participant instances will be generated.

Instance creation tab

This tab allows you to configure parameters around instance creation. See Performance activity instance creation settings for more information. 

Notifications tab

This tab allows you to configure notifications. See Performance activity notifications for more information.

© Copyright 2022 Totara Learning Solutions. All rights reserved.


Was this article helpful?

First name must have atleast 2 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Last name must have atleast 1 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Enter a valid email
Enter a valid password
Your profile has been successfully updated.