--- title: "Auto-create learning plans" slug: "auto-create-learning-plans" tags: ["How-to", "Site Administrator", "Totara Learn"] updated: 2026-08-13T16:01:28Z published: 2026-08-13T16:01:28Z canonical: "totara.help/auto-create-learning-plans" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://totara.help/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Auto-create learning plans Instead of [manually creating learning plans](/totara-20/docs/create-a-learning-plan) for each of your learners, you may prefer to automatically create learning plans based on a specific [template](/totara-20/docs/create-a-learning-plan-template) for all members of an audience. 1. Go to *Quick-access menu > Audiences* and create a dynamic audience. 2. Add a rule to select some users. 3. Go to the **Learning plan** tab to create new learning plans for all members in the audience. 4. The **Plan template** option will allow you to pick the template you want the users' plan to be based on. 5. The **Exclude users who** option lets you define audience members who shouldn’t get a new plan created. If a user meets any of the excluded criteria, a plan won’t be created for them. 6. The **Create new plans** **as** option lets you define the status of newly created plans (draft or active). 7. You can also choose to **Automatically create a new learning plan for every new user who becomes a member of this audience.** 8. Select **Save and create plans**. It may take a few moment for the new learning plan to appear (depending on the frequency of your cron). When you select **Save and create** plans, you will see a confirmation dialog explaining how many users will be affected and giving you the chance to confirm. If you continue, the plans will be created and you will get a confirmation message. The history table will also be populated to show what was done. If no users meet the plan creation criteria i.e. there is no-one in the audience, or all users meet the exclusion criteria, then the confirmation dialog will display **No users require having learning plans created**, the settings will be saved and the history table will be populated to show what was done. If the **have an existing, automatically created plan based on this template** option for the **Exclude users who** setting is not set, automatic creation of learning plans will not be available. If a user is removed from the audience any learning plans already created will not be affected. ![Course badge](https://cdn.document360.io/a007399b-031e-436b-999a-528240e16f58/Images/Documentation/course-badge_learning-plans.svg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-06T07%3A21%3A31Z&se=2026-11-06T08%3A21%3A31Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=3fgAhOjCnAlBR7Va%2BBffYC07i7Fp9c7Op0mRzjvomt8%3D)The Totara Academy has a whole course dedicated to using [Learning plans](https://totara.community/course/view.php?id=573) in Totara Learn. Here you can learn more on how to use learning plans, see best practice, and give it a go yourself. Join the [Totara Community](https://totara.community/) for more resources to help you get the most out of Totara. © Copyright 2026 Totara Learning Solutions. All rights reserved.