--- title: "Reset existing role to definition" slug: "reset-existing-role-to-definition" tags: ["Totara Platform", "How-to", "Site Administrator"] updated: 2026-08-13T16:01:10Z published: 2026-08-13T16:01:10Z canonical: "totara.help/reset-existing-role-to-definition" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://totara.help/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Reset existing role to definition Once you have made changes to a [role](/totara-20/docs/what-are-roles) (especially a default role), you may wish to reset it back to the default. To reset a role, follow these steps: 1. Go to *Quick-access menu* *> Permissions > Define roles*. 2. Click the name of the role you wish to reset. 3. Click **Reset**. 4. You can optionally upload a preset. 5. Select the required reset options. 6. Click **Continue**. 7. Review the changes to the role definition. 8. Click **Save changes**. ## Next steps - [Export role definition to file](/totara-20/docs/export-role-definition-to-file) - [Edit a role](/totara-20/docs/edit-a-role) Join the [Totara Community](https://totara.community/) for more resources to help you get the most out of Totara. © Copyright 2026 Totara Learning Solutions. All rights reserved.