Manually manage performance activity availability
  • 25 May 2023
  • 3 minutes to read

Manually manage performance activity availability


Article Summary

Both Site Administrators and Staff Managers can manually manage the availability of a performance activity subject instance, for example closing or reopening an appraisal activity for a particular employee. 

As a Site Administrator

To manually manage the availability of a performance activity as a Site Administrator you must first ensure you are logged in as a Site Administrator, then follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Quick-access menu > Activity management.
  2. Alongside the activity for which you wish to open or close an instance, click the icon of two people () to Manage participation.  
  3. View the Subject instances, Participant instances or Participant sections tabs to navigate to the instance or section of the performance activity you wish to open or close. 
  4. Click the icon of three dots (three_dots(1)) alongside the instance you wish to manage.
  5. Select whether you wish to:
    • Close: If the activity is open then you can close it. Closing the subject instance closes the associated participant instances, effectively closing the activity. Note that when a pending subject instance is closed it cannot be reopened.
    • Reopen: If the activity is closed then you can reopen it. Reopening a subject instance reopens all the associated participant instances, effectively reopening the activity. 
    • Add: You can use this to add new subjects and participants to the activity.
    • Delete: You can use this to remove subjects and participants from the activity. Deleting the subject will delete all the associated participants.
  6. Read the warning message to ensure you are aware of the effects the action will have.
  7. Then either click the Close button (if you are closing an instance) or click the Reopen button if you are opening an instance.
  8. You can also click Cancel if you no longer wish to continue with the action. 

As a Manager

As a Staff Manager, you can manually manage the availability of performance activities for members of your team. To do this follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Develop > Activities from the top navigation bar.
  2. Above the list of activities, on the right-hand side, click the Manage participation button. 
  3. From the dropdown menu select the performance activity you'd like to manually manage availability for. 
  4. Click the Continue button.
  5. View the Subject instances, Participant instances or Participant sections tabs to navigate to the instance or section of the performance activity you wish to open or close. 
  6. Click the icon of three dots (three_dots(1)) alongside the instance you wish to manage.
  7. Select whether you wish to:
    • Close: If the activity is open then you can close it. Closing the subject instance closes the associated participant instances, effectively closing the activity. Note that when a pending subject instance is closed it cannot be reopened. 
    • Reopen: If the activity is closed then you can reopen it. Reopening a subject instance reopens all the associated participant instances, effectively reopening the activity. 
    • Add: You can use this to add new subjects and participants to the activity.
    • Delete: You can use this to remove subjects and participants from the activity. Deleting the subject will delete all the associated participants. 
  8. Read the warning message to ensure you are aware of the effects the action will have.
  9. Then either click the Close button (if you are closing an instance) or click the Reopen button if you are opening an instance.
  10. You can also click Cancel if you no longer wish to continue with the action. 
The exact wording of the option to close or reopen an instance will depend on the type of instance for which you are performing the action. For example, if you are closing a subject instance it will read Close subject instance, and if you are closing a participant instance it will read Close participant instance.
When manually managing availability in either role it is important to know that closing an instance will prevent any further submissions, regardless of the affected user's progress. If the answers have not been submitted then the status will be changed to Not submitted.

Opening an instance will change it to Not started if there are no responses saved within it, or return it to the In progress status if there were responses, even if it was previously completed. Any submitted responses by the participant will be saved as a new draft. Responses will be unavailable for viewing in this state (and will become visible again when the conditions for visibility are fulfilled).

Get involved in the conversation about Performance management in the Totara Community.

The Totara Academy also has courses dedicated to Totara Perform, including check-ins, appraisals, 360 feedback and competencies.

© Copyright 2024 Totara Learning Solutions. All rights reserved.


Was this article helpful?

Changing your password will log you out immediately. Use the new password to log back in.
First name must have atleast 2 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Last name must have atleast 1 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Enter a valid email
Enter a valid password
Your profile has been successfully updated.